The New Balearic 41
// Bruce Mans / Aug 5, 2010

As promised, I’ve finally gotten around to making the first episode of the New Balearic this year… in June. The first half of 2010 has demanded lengthy papers and in-depth projects, a handful of Maritime trips, and daily World Cup commitments (Hup Holland)… all of which have distracted me from my podcast duty. The second half of 2010 looks equally as busy, but I’ll be more shrewd with my time and keep regular updates.

Well then…. music! It’s been a great year so far. Great new bands have emerged and old favourites have released new material. New to the podcast are some great new bands from all over Canada, including folk from Halifax’s The Prospector’s Union, and Winnipeg’s Ah Sage, pop from Calgary’s Ghostkeeper, and dreamy synthesized beats Vancouver’s Teen Daze. I’m also exited to have Langley’s The Magician & the Gates of Love and Abbotsford’s Jordan Klassen back on the podcast with some new material.

Outside of Canada, some of my all-time favourite musicians have also been busy. Four Tet and Pantha du Prince have both offered new full length albums full of tasty beats. Argentina’s Gotan Project have also returned with some more Nuevo Tango brilliance. Last year the Netherlands brought us some beautiful folk music courtesy of the Black Atlantic. This year, the country brings us I Am Oak, a sincere songwriter from Utrecht by the name Thijs Kuijken. Finally, one of my favourite albums of the year so far has got to be the Black KeysBrothers, and will surely be featured in many more episodes to come.

So with that, enjoy the music!

Check out The New Balearic on Twitter and Facebook.

//Tracklisting: (1 hour, 18 minutes)

Slacker - ‘Start A New Life’ (Godlike and Electric)
Emancipator - ‘Nevergreen’ (Self Released)
Plants and Animals - ‘Undone Melody’ (Secret City)
The Black Keys - ‘Tighten Up’ (Nonesuch)
Ghostkeeper - ‘Haunted’ (Flemish Eye)
Broken Social Scene - ‘Sweetest Kill’ (Arts & Crafts)
Jordan Klassen - ‘Written on Collarbone’ (Self Released)
Teen Daze - ‘Shine On, You Crazy White Cap’ (Arcade Sound)
Four Tet - ‘Angel Echoes’ (Domino)
Pantha du Prince - ‘Bohemian Forest’ (Rough Trade)
Crystal Castles - ‘Celestica’ (Polydor)
I Am Oak - ‘Don’t I Know Enough’ (Snowstar)
The Magician & The Gates of Love - ‘The Lions’ (Self Released)
Ah Sage - ‘Suburban Witchcraft’ (Self Released)
The Prospector’s Union - ‘Salt City Blues’ (Just Friends)
The Acorn - ‘Slippery When Wet’ (Paperbag)
Shugo Tokumaru - ‘Tracking Elevator’ (p-vine)
Janelle Monáe - ‘Tightrope (Feat. Big Boi)’ (Altantic)
Bonobo - ‘Stay The Same (Feat. Andreya Triana)’ (Ninja Tune)
Gotan Project - Desilusion’ (¡Ya Basta!)

Photo taken by Bruce Mans, All Rights Reserved.


// share this article

Bookmark and Share

// join the discussion

We invite thoughtful, articulate comments and contributions on this topic. Submitting a comment below will send it to our editorial staff, added to this website pending review.