The New Balearic 40
// Bruce Mans / Feb 8, 2010

The big four oh! Looks like the podcast is approaching that hill… hopefully there’s no mid–life crisis awaiting on the other side. It’s hard to believe it’s already been forty episodes. Way back on May 18, 2006, Episode One was released. Over four years later (and almost sixty hours of music later!) and I’m still having tons of fun with it, and hopefully you’re still enjoying it.

This episode is 85 minutes of the usual. The first set begins with psychedelic American dream pop. Animal Collective show no signs of slowing down after their groundbreaking album, Merriweather Post Pavilion, with their new EP Fall Be Kind. Beach House’s new album is also sounding very very good. New Balearic favourite Tycho has released a new dreamy single. Heading north, no episode would be complete without some typically great Canadian folk, featuring Wilderness of Manitoba, The Wooden Sky, Said the Whale and Aidan Knight.

The episode is also full of some tremendous tracks from Iceland’s Hildur Guðnadóttir, Ben Frost, and Ólafur Arnalds and Sigur Rós‘ Jónsi. It continues to amaze me how much great music can come out of such a small country. More music from the continent include new stuff from Britain’s The Leisure Society and Rudi Arapahoe, Greece’s Blue Pilot Project, and two more tracks from Holland’s The Black Atlantic.

// tracklisting

  • Animal Collective - ‘What Would I Want? Sky’ (Domino)
  • Toro Y Moi - ‘Blessa’ (Carpark)
  • Beach House - ‘Walk in the Park’ (Sub Pop)
  • Kelpe - ‘Caution Site’ (DC)
  • Alec Ounsworth - ‘South Philadelphia’ (Anti-)
  • Yukon Blonde - ‘Wind Blows’ (Nevado Records)
  • The Leisure Society - ‘The Last of the Melting Snow’ (Willkommen Records)
  • The Black Atlantic - ‘An Ocean and Peril’ (Beep! Beep! Back up the Truck)
  • Hildur Guðnadóttir - ‘Ascent’ (Touch)
  • Rudi Arapahoe - ‘To Gather Flowers/Forest of Arches’ (Symbolic Interaction)
  • The Wilderness of Manitoba - ‘Bluebirds’ (Independent)
  • The Wooden Sky - ‘Oslo’ (Black Box)
  • Said the Whale - ‘Holly, Ontario’ (Hidden Pony)
  • Blockhead - ‘Hell Camp’ (Ninja Tune)
  • Ochre - ‘Raido’ (Benbecula)
  • Tycho - ‘Coastal Brake’ (Ghostly International)
  • Jónsi - ‘Boy Lilikoi’ (XL)
  • Blue Pilots Project - ‘Million Clouds’ (Klik)
  • Ben Frost - ‘O God Protect Me’ (Bedroom Community)
  • Ólafur Arnalds - ‘Lokaou Augunum (Dyad 1909 version)’ (Erased Tapes)
  • Aidan Knight - ‘Sorrows/Jasper’ (Canadian Tuxedo)
  • Sea Wolf - ‘Orion & Dog’ (Dangerbird)
  • The Black Atlantic - ‘Madagascar’ (Beep! Beep! Back up the Truck)


Bruce Mans is the curator of the blog/podcast The New Balearic. Inspired by the late John Peel and his renowned eclectic taste, Bruce set out with the primary goal of creating a quality online space with which to expose an equally eclectic range of bands on a global level. Having accomplished that, Bruce says he's happy simply knowing bands are benefiting from his work, and that people enjoy his mixes. |

// share this article

Bookmark and Share

// join the discussion

We invite thoughtful, articulate comments and contributions on this topic. Submitting a comment below will send it to our editorial staff, added to this website pending review.